Wednesday, 7 December 2016

Platform celebrate 10 years with 15 track various artists compilation album (December 9th 2016)

  Platform celebrate 10 years with 15 song compilation This Is Not A Game

To mark our first decade, rather than just 'looking back', Platform is releasing a 15-track various artists compilation including bands, singers and songs very recently signed to our business. The album contains just under an hour of indie-pop and indie-rock music. 

Courtesy of, here we have a track-by-track review of the album:

Late Hala taps into a late summer vibe on the laid-back “Good Thing”. Reminiscent of Real Estate’s mellowed atmosphere the song possesses a loose, tender feeling to it. The honeyed chorus works wonders adding to the overall dreamy quality to the piece.
Prehistoric Skies” shows Warm Winters updating psychedelic rock for the indie set. Rather beautiful the song simply soars into the sky, accompanied by a driving rhythm. Vocals have just the right hint of disaffection as they continue in a gorgeous haze.
Energy pours out of the triumphant work of “Chemicals”. With “ChemicalsRayne present a passionate take on the complicated work that relationships require. Simply lovely the way the song unfurls gives it a naturalistic hue.
On “Safe ForeverRoss Trigwell sings straight from the heart. A sparse arrangement and tense rhythm reinforces the anxiety that defines the piece. Layer upon layer of sound slowly come together to create a sound that teems with life.
A western twang informs the spaciousness of Bobo & The Demeraras’ “She”. Light on its feet, the song brings together elements of indie rock, ambient, and country into a satisfying whole. Cinematic in scope the song is quite glorious.
Tapping into a rainy-day mood is the affectionate “The Home Song” where Gregory Clark’s vocals are front and centre. Poetic in tone the piece has a warmth to it. Right in the thick of it is an inviting melody of which everything revolves around.
Reminiscent of Arcade Fire’s work is the majestic performance of Jon Vautier’s “Leave The City Dead”. Deeply satisfying the song taps into the spirit of simply escaping the awful mundanity that can define too much time away from nature. Offering a full-on sound, the big band feeling is all-encompassing.
Light and airy is the casual work of George Diaz’s “Can’t Say”. Stripped down to the essentials the song’s effortless grace is undeniable. At times the way the song comes together gives it a bossa nova flavor.
Brightly coloured is the joyous “Magical Things” by Emporium. The sound is otherworldly as the reverent approach works to Emporium’s favour. Celebrating creativity, the song’s careful narrative is compelling.
The Ultra dive into a late 80's post-punk sound with “Universe In Two”. Pitch perfect, the darkened hues work to its favour. Rather mysterious in tone, the song at times feels akin to a long-lost Joy Division track.
Reggae inflected grooves dominates the languid tempos of Indiana Foxx’s “Spectre”. Vocals add to the overall spaciousness of the dub-influenced bass lines which are infused with a catchy melody. Trapped in a daze the song’s spirit is strong as it slowly unfolds revealing a great plethora of intricate details.
The Buddha Pests tap into an aggressive post-rock spirit on the nimble “Tanker”. Attention to detail works wonders as the drums kick into overdrive leading the way forward. Rhythms, counter-rhythms, the entire thing has a spaced-out manic feel to it. Vocals swim through the sea of sound giving a voice to the giddy chaos.
Nostalgic in nature is James Blames’ “The Bad Old Days Are Back”. Gleaming guitar work adds to the rather playful mood that dominates the song. Vocals are delivered with just the right kind of emphasis as the song has a communal spirit to it.
Jazzy is the sprawling work of Voodoo Rays’ “Wider Sea”. Offering an exploratory nature to their approach the song works on a deep, emotional level. The organ work is perfect as the guitar punctuates the piece in all the right places. Easily the highlight is the deadpan vocal delivery which further emphasises the overall mood of the song.
Triumph reigns on Liquorice River’s “Back To the Beginning”. An 80's-pop vibe dominates the track. Everything works from the clever lyricism to the steady rhythm. 
Listen to 14 of the tracks at 
'This Is Not A Game' is released on Platform Records - December 9th 2016. 

No comments:

Post a comment